British Wool

There are more than 60 different breeds of sheep in Britain. More than in any other country. Their wool is very different often depending on where they live, on hills or lower land. Some are naturally coloured.

The breeds can be divided into groups:

Mountain;  Swaledale, Blackface, Welsh Mountain
Hill; Cheviot, Beulah, Hill Radnor
Cross; Mule
Medium: Romney, Lleyn, Texel
Fine; Examples, Suffolk, Clun Forest
Lustre; Bluefaced Leicester, Wensleydale, Devon & Cornwall Longwool
Naturally Coloured; Jacob